Do Achievements and Trophies Ruin Videogames? | One-Shot

We all like a sense of accomplishment. For me and many others out there, videogames offer a form of entertainment to also brighten up the day. Now imagine if there was a reward system for the hard work you’ve put into a game. Well thanks to the inclusion of trophies and achievements this is a reality. There can be negatives though, and I decided to write this piece because it’s sort of like a confession, and may be enlightening on how a digital world can suck you in too much if you’re not careful and affect your view on games.

Firstly, the positives of trophies or achievements. A day locked away from the world would feel that little bit groovier when I heard the electronic ding as a pop up appeared in the corner of my screen and notified me that I had earned yet another trophy. When the platinum trophy for Skyrim eventually popped, around two hundred hours after initially starting the game, the sense of triumph was magnificent.

Those who care for these virtual trinkets know that Skyrim’s platinum isn’t particularly difficult to achieve, just very time consuming, and yet this time flew by and in this case the trophies seemed like extra side quests themselves.

One of my proudest platinum trophies would be that from Call of Duty: World at War, the veteran difficulty had me grinding through levels inch by inch until I finally saw the credits roll. The trophy itself for completing the game on veteran difficulty was excruciatingly hard, yet I persevered. This was because I enjoyed the game itself, I had already completed it once on the easiest difficulty, I drank in the rich history within the story and then went back to conquer this gruelling challenge.

SKADOOSH.

Had I not wanted to achieve the platinum then I would still have been fully satisfied with the game and experience it offered me and simply sold it when I finished. As it stood, I relished the extra challenge and felt immense satisfaction when the platinum finally popped.

There are dozens of games I’ve enjoyed getting the platinum for. Of course, there are games I had a damn hard time getting it for and found some tougher than running for the ice-cream van before Steve drove away with his delicious dairy goodness. However, for better or for worse I realised I was quickly developing a habit that could become a slippery slope if I wasn’t careful- some games I began playing purely for the reason I knew I could get the platinum trophy for it.

That’s the problem with some trophies that come included in the game, it’s great being able to brag to your friends about your collection of gold and platinum trophies, even silver and bronze ones give some status amongst gamers if you have enough. However, some of these trophies are far too ridiculous to achieve for those that don’t have the gaming skill equivalent to the swimming prowess of Michael Phelps. Certain difficulty-related trophies can make somebody, past me included, give up on a game simply because they can’t get that virtual gold trinket, or spend hours sitting through a pretty crappy game because of the desire to get that damn platinum.

This other side of the coin is the argument some people, those known as ‘trophy hunters’, will use to moan about the trophies or achievements that certain game developers include with their games, claiming them too be too difficult or time consuming. Yet I’ve come to realise how farfetched this argument seems.

I agree that at times I felt frustrated I couldn’t get a certain platinum, but realised it’s because I’m just not skilled or patient enough to stick with a higher difficulty or time-consuming slog to reach that virtual goal. I’ve come to recognise that difficulties can often be changed, and I can still enjoy a game for what it is, or decide I don’t wish to play it because the game itself is what is flawed, not the trophy list.

That is what people, trophy/achievement hunters particularly, seem to forget- the idea that a trophy/achievement list isn’t what a game should be about, these are merely additional extras that add a level of replayability to your game or prove just how skilled you are. A game should be reviewed and considered based upon the actual gameplay itself, not because you simply couldn’t slay 10,000 orcs with only a dagger, or reach the top one percent in multiplayer.

Didn’t they?

The only reason you should moan about the multiplayer is because the gameplay itself is flawed, not the trophies included. I appreciate it may be irritating to try and get some if the gameplay is dull, but that is the fault of the game and in short you should just stop playing if you aren’t enjoying what you paid for. After all you don’t blame the trophies for bad graphical quality or sing praises for majestic soundtracks.

To me that’s what trophies and achievements are, an optional extra for the game with which you can strive for 100% or leave for the dust mites if you aren’t interested in them. They can offer optional joy to gamers and shouldn’t reflect a game’s score itself. If you don’t enjoy a game then that is not the trophies fault, remember that.

There are dozens of fantastic games out there for people to sink their teeth in to, and the addition of trophies or achievements boost replayability to a game and often add in the extra challenge of proving that you’ve mastered all the skills that the game requires of you. I’ve been a hunter myself, I know what it’s like- just don’t lose sight of the real enjoyment you could be having.

Now that I’ve decided to confess my sins and hopefully enlightened others that games don’t have to be dictated by their respective trophy/achievement lists, do you agree that people need to stop complaining about trophies and enjoy games for what they are? There’s nothing wrong with the hunt, but don’t let it consume you.

Leave a comment